David, WYSIWYG

David wrote the Psalms. Those Psalms have comforted people for thousands of years.

David was deeply spiritual.

David was a warrior. He and his Mighty Men killed tens of thousands of enemies. He exterminated cities. He utterly hated his enemies, except for the Mighty Men from those enemies. He loved them.

David was diametrically opposed to, ugh, David.

David loved God. Unreservedly. He trusted God always. Except in the Psalms when he is asking God, “When will you show up?” “Where are you? I am dying here.” “Deliver me from my enemies. Heal me. Kill my enemies.” “And I love you, God. You know that.”

David did not try to hide ugly parts of himself from God. David never put on airs that he was better than he was. If David loved God one instant, and was anxious the next second, it is there in the Psalm.

What You See Is What You Get (WYSIWYG) took years of programming to put on your computer. For David, it was his divided consciousness, ADHD soul from early on in life.

David never intended to hide his ugliness or sin, except for that thing with Bathsheba where David had his friend, Uriah, a Mighty Man killed when he refused to bed his wife and cover for David unwittingly.

WYSIWYG. David confesses his sin for use in church hymns for the country of Israel. He leads the country in worship, even when it offended his wife, Michal. Maybe he got a little excited, but he refused to apologize, and never slept with her again.

And God describes David as the Apple of His Eye.

I tend to dress up for God, present my best self in my prayers even when confessing sins. I know, like changing underwear for the God with X-Ray vision. David never bothered. David brought his most intimate self, immediately, unreservedly to God.

WYSIWYG. God loved the guy for putting on no faces, not dressing up, not trying to put a good spin on his self-presentation.

David says it another way: When I hid my sin, my body was wasting away!

Leave a comment